monastery is located on the border of the Uvurkhangai and Arkhangai provinces,
it is situated on a flat rocky area on the top part of the Shiveet-Ulaan
mountain and is surrounded by wild-woods and rock cliffs. Visitors hike 5 km up
to the monastery from the skirt of the mountain. The Tuvkhun monastery was
first established in 1648 by the 14 year old Zanabazar. Jebtsundamba khutuktu Bogd first noticed this
beautiful place in 1651, this is when he built a small wooden cabin for
meditation. That was the beginning of the Tuvkhun monastery. The monastery was built by Mongolian
carpenters and all the buildings have perfect mortises.
1992, the Tuvkhun monastery was determined to be under state protection, it has
since been restored and now is a significant historical location in Mongolia.
In this temple, First Bogd Zanabazar created great works of art, these include
called: “Soyombo” script, along with many images of deities. Bogd Zanabazar
used to get water from two wells near by the monastery. His Mongolian boot sole
(38 cm) and hand prints have been found on the side of a northwestern rock.
monastery used to have 14 small temples. This monastery exists near a unique
geological formation called the ‘Womb Cave’. The Womb Cave is on top of a high
and stiff rock that is located behind the monastery. The tradition of the womb
cave dictates the method in which individuals traverse its 3 chambers. Women
who enter the first chamber must turn left when they reach the intersection of
the 2nd and 3rd chambers, men must turn right. The native
belief states that upon exiting their prospective chambers, men and women are
cleansed and reborn.
right chamber called “Ulgii” is tall enough for an upright person, the left
chamber “Senjit” is believed to cure those who cannot walk.
cairn on top of these rocks is a male only pilgrimage site; and the other cairn
that is down on the left is a female only pilgrimage site.