CHIN TOLGOIN BALGAS

This ancient city ruin is situated in a sunny side of a small hill Chin Khairkhan 16km east from Dashinchilen Soum, Bulgan Aimag. The ruin consists of a watchtower on hilltop, a fortress ruin and abandoned sites of a yurt outside the fortress. There is a currently 10m-high watchtower on northwest of the fortress and it was made of granite and dark grey siliceous rock. From the watchtower 20-30km area can be seen. There are also ancient stele’s base and 2 large stone turtles. Several roof-tiles inscribed in Khitan and furnace remains of approximately 1000 households were found around the fortress. As a result of the research, it became clear that this is a ruin of Chjen Chjou, a city of Khitan. A Chinese monk Chani Chun Bumba who traveled through the site in the 13th century on the way to Genghis khan recorded that it was a ruin of Chjen Chjou city of Khitan and also he said there were three other Khitan city ruins west from Tuul River.  Khadaasangyn or Khar Bukhyn Balgas is on the west and Talyn Ulaan Balgas is on the right side of Chin Tolgoin Balgas. All of them date back to the same period. According to the sutra, this city was being inhabited by about 20,000 soldiers of northwest tribe of Khitan and over 700 Chinese and Zurchid families who had been exiled to the city. Researchers regard that establishment of the city started during the Uighar period and expanded during the Khitan period. Later, during the period of Prince Tsogt, it had been used as a military camp and a watchtower. This is a unique architectural example because the fortress was built of conglomerate. The watchtower is supposed to have been 30m high with a base of 40m in diameter. It was built of rocks and stones carried from a mountain. Chin Tolgoyn Balgas was taken under state protection in 1998.